The Film Emperor Asks For Divorce Every Day 影帝每天都想离婚[穿书] Ch. 18

Translated by Neirith

“No. Pass the phone to Ling Bai,” Yu Chen instructed.

At this, the secretary handed the phone to Ling Bai.

Ling Bai took it and said gently, “Brother Chen.”

Yu Chen calmly replied, “Xiao Bai, don’t come to my company in the future. If you need help, ask your brother for his opinion first. If he thinks it’s necessary, we’ll help you. Otherwise, we won’t. I still have work to do so you can contact your brother in the future.”

Ling Bai heard the busy tone and stared at the phone with a dazed expression. He didn’t get a word in, so why was he hung up on? Telling him to contact Ling Qing, did Yu Chen go crazy?

He recalled his meeting with Ling Qing and his entire person became filled with resistance. He didn’t even want to remember.

So, he prompted the secretary to call Yu Chen again. 

“Mr. Yu is in a meeting, please wait,” the secretary said.

Ling Bai wondered, “Who is he talking to?”

“I don’t know,” the secretary answered.

Ling Bai frowned, feeling displeased. He had come to find Yu Chen yesterday but was informed that he wasn’t there. Then he called Yu Chen, but there was no answer. Sent a WeChat message, yet there was still no answer. He had even asked Yu Chen when he’d return, but Yu Chen ignored him.

This shouldn’t be the case. Yu Chen obviously cares a lot about him. Every time something happens, Yu Chen was there for him. Even if they had a disagreement, Yu Chen would never deign to ignore him. How come this time Yu Chen was so heartless?!

Ling Bai couldn’t help but let his mind run wild. Could it be that Ling Qing told him something? 

That shouldn’t be the case, if Ling Qing had something against him, he should have said it long ago. Why wouldn’t he have said it before? 

But what else could it be?

Feeling anxious and apprehensive, Ling Bai couldn’t help but dial Ling Qing. Nonetheless, the call did not go through. Instead, he heard the female operator’s voice.

“Sorry, the number you are dialing is currently busy. Please try again later. Sorry…”

Ling Bai couldn’t help but speculate as he listened to the prompt. Could it be, he was talking to Yu Chen? What were they talking about?

Upset, he hung up the phone and tried to call Yu Chen again.

Yu Chen was indeed talking to Ling Qing. In fact, he was talking to Ling Qing about Ling Bai. 

“So you didn’t meet him but directed him to me?” Ling Qing asked.

“Yes,” Yu Chen answered. “I know you care about our previous relationship so you can handle all his affairs in the future. I won’t intervene and you can do what you wish.”

Ling Qing had no disagreements with this, “Well, you don’t have to refuse him so earnestly. To be honest, I’m a little curious about what he has to say to you. Why don’t you meet him first?”

Yu Chen: …

Yu Chen thought, ‘not this again’! Just like last time, when he was told to go see Ling Bai, what was the result?

When he returned, he was scolded!

Yu Chen was weary and wasn’t able to be fooled again. 

“I refuse.”

“Just go talk to him and see what he wants? Maybe it’s something important?”

“Do you think I’m stupid? Haven’t you heard of the boy who cried wolf? Once bitten, twice shy. To do it again, wouldn’t I be stupid?”

Ling Qing laughed, “I’m really not trying to test you, I’m honestly curious. It’s my command, so I promise not to bite you for it.”

Yu Chen retorted coldly, “Wasn’t the last time your command too? What was the result? You called me a scum! You called me a cheater! If I trust you again, I must be really stupid.”

Ling Qing was dumbfounded by his response. Yu Chen was truly traumatized by the original owner and wouldn’t believe him at all.

“How about this, you keep the call going. When you talk to him, I’ll listen in. If you do it like this, there’s no way I’d wrongly accuse you, okay?”

It was the only way. 

Except, Yu Chen still had his reservations. “Why do you want me to talk to him? You really don’t mind?” he wondered. 

“You’re overthinking things, I really don’t mind. I just want to know why he’s coming to you this time. Does he want to tell you about his new relationships, or does he want to mend the old ones?”

“And if he wants to talk about the old ones?” Yu Chen asked.

“Then, just do as you suggested and let him come to me.”

“Alright,” Yu Chen agreed. “But if you cause trouble again, I’ll never believe a word out of your mouth in the future.”

Hearing his words, Ling Qing thought that he was super cute.

“Baby, don’t worry, I won’t be upset. If you really don’t believe me, you can make a record of this. If I cause any trouble for you, you can play it back and let me slap myself.”

Yu Chen, who had really turned on the recording function, “Come on, say it again. I’ll record it.”

Ling Qing: …

Ling Qing couldn’t help but laugh, “Xiao Yu, you’re so cute. You’re breaking the rules, you know?”

Yu Chen didn’t know, but knew that if Ling Qing dared to wrongly accuse him again, he would play this recording back and let Ling Qing beat himself to death!

Ling Bai had followed the secretary into the conference room and waited a while before Yu Chen arrived. 

He asked, “Why are we meeting here? Didn’t we always meet in your office before?”

Placing his phone on the table, Yu Chen said indifferently, “That was before, this is now. Why are you looking for me today?”

Seeing the serious look on his face, Ling Bai decided to play the emotional card first. He looked at Yu Chen with a wronged expression, “Are you still mad at me? If I call, you won’t pick up. You won’t reply to my WeChat. Are you ignoring me?”

Yu Chen responded calmly, “I didn’t answer your calls or reply to your messages as I’ve been busy. If something comes up, you can ask Xiao Qing and he’ll tell me.”

After he said this, he directed his thoughts toward Ling Qing on the other side of the phone. ‘I didn’t answer his calls or reply to his messages. Did you hear? Do you dare to test me again?’

Ling Bai, who was completely unaware of his inner thoughts, was still working hard to express himself, “You know my brother and I have a poor relationship. If I told you anything, he would never tell you. Besides, when did we need someone to come between us?”

He spoke in a vague, aggrieved manner. However, Yu Chen didn’t seem to have noticed at all.

“Your brother isn’t just anyone. He’s your brother and my wife. He’ll bridge the gap between us, don’t worry.”

Ling Bai: ???

He couldn’t believe his ears. What kind of bridge would Ling Qing be? A broken one? The type of bridge that would lead to his death as soon as he set foot on it?

“Brother Chen, why are you being like this? You weren’t like this before, you used to care about me.”

Yu Chen snorted, “That was before.”

“Then what about now?” He was confused, “You said that you would protect me, did you forget?”

Leaning back in his seat, Yu Chen crossed his legs and said, unperturbed, “Well you chose Su Yue, didn’t you? What about me? I told you that if you chose him, I wouldn’t care about your affairs in the future. And what did you say? You said, ‘Good, it’s best if you don’t care. I’ve been under your control for long enough, don’t come looking for me in the future.’ Remember?”

Ling Bai was anxious. “I was just upset and said some things carelessly. How could you take it to heart?”

Yu Chen shook his head, “You didn’t just say things casually, but from your heart. You think I like you so I won’t leave you alone. Even if you said something like that, I would still care for you.”

“That’s not it,” Ling Bai resisted. 

“Of course it’s not,” Yu Chen smiled, “For us, it was always you who begged me to help, it wasn’t me who took the initiative. I was never the one who looked for you. Not before, not now, and not in the future.”

He gave Ling Bai a cold and distant look, “I’m someone who stays true to my words, so I did as I promised. You were the one who took it for granted. You even thought that if I liked you, I would never leave you, right?”

“No, it’s not like that.” Ling Bai stood up in a panic and moved towards him, “Brother Chen, don’t you like me? Otherwise, why would you be so angry when Su Yue showed up? I know I shouldn’t have said that. I was wrong, forgive me?”

“Fine.” Yu Chen agreed, “I’ll forgive you since it has nothing to do with interfering in your matters. But stop saying that I like you. Whether I like you or not is something I’m clear about. It’s just that I don’t like Su Yue and I don’t think you should associate with him. He’s not right in his mind. I would persuade anyone to stay away from him, not just you.”

Ling Bai refused to believe it, “Brother Chen, don’t deny yourself out of anger. You like me, I can feel it.”

Ling Qing was tired of hearing Ling Bai’s voice and wished he could reach through the phone, grab him by the ear, and shout, “Can you stop being so annoying! Are you a pick up artist? Every day, telling him that he likes you? People say no, but you have to disagree? You really can’t see your own shortcomings!”

It’s no wonder Yu Chen previously doubted his feelings for Ling Bai. Ling Bai mouth kept insisting things like, ‘You like me. Don’t say it, I know you like me. You have to like me. If you think you don’t like me, that must be your own fantasy. If you think about it, you really like me!’

How could Yu Chen, the novice who had never experienced love before, cope?

After telling so many lies, it would inevitably become true. Even under such a siege, Yu Chen still felt he didn’t like Ling Bai. It hadn’t been easy for him. 

Yu Chen looked at the phone as if peering at Ling Qing and didn’t wish to argue with Ling Bai about whether he liked him or not. So he said, “You came just to tell me that I like you? If that’s all you have to say, you can leave now.”

Seeing his attitude, Ling Bai was unwilling to leave. He wanted to continue arguing with Yu Chen about their relationship, but Yu Chen was indisposed to listen, raising his hand and motioning for Ling Bai to stop talking.

“I don’t want to discuss this with you anymore. If there’s nothing else, I’ll be going ahead.”

Ling Bai opened his mouth, but no words came out. He had originally wanted to ask Yu Chen to lend him a few people for investigation, but now it seemed Yu Chen was reluctant to speak to him. 

He looked at Yu Chen and didn’t know how to bring it up to him. It seemed that Yu Chen really intended to leave. Last time he did this, he said he was going to commit suicide, but Yu Chen still refused to see him.

He was unsure how it turned out like this. Clearly, Yu Chen cared about him. Why was he suddenly treating him with such cruelty?

Was it because of Ling Qing? Was it something Ling Qing told him?

Clenching his fists, Ling Bai hurriedly left the conference room. 

When he saw that Ling Bai had left, Yu Chen picked up the phone and said to Ling Qing, “You heard it all.”

Ling Qing nodded, “Darling, it hasn’t been easy for you. Living in this type of environment, it’s no wonder you had doubts about your feelings.”

“So you know it hasn’t been easy for me.”

“Don’t worry, I understand.” Ling Qing laughed. “Alright, you’re busy so I’m going to have a chat with my brother.”

“What are you going to say?” Yu Chen was curious. 

“What he cares about right now is definitely his relationships. He went to you and you ignored him, so in all likelihood, he’ll approach Su Yue. I know Su Yue isn’t a good person. Ling Bai is stupid, but at least he’s careful. He won’t do anything to violate the law. However, Su Yue is different, he doesn’t have any morality. For the sake of my brother*, I can’t let Su Yue learn anything.” *Ling Qing is referring to his biological brother, not Ling Bai

“Are you worried that Su Yue might harm your brother for the sake of Ling Bai?”

Ling Qing laughed, “He doesn’t care about Ling Bai. For him, Ling Bai is just a pawn. But even though Ling Bai is only a pawn, he won’t allow others to hurt him. For his plan, a variable like my brother is highly necessary.”

Yu Chen frowned, “It seems you’re well acquainted with Su Yue?”

Of course, I have the entire plot in my head, okay? Ling Qing countered in his heart. 

“It’s because I heard you talking to Xiao Bai about it before. Xiao Bai didn’t believe you, but I believe you. I feel Su Yue isn’t a good person.”

Yu Chen was placated, especially because the way he said ‘I believe you’ was very satisfying. 

“Well, I’ll let you go. I have something to do. Calling me if you need anything.”

“Okay.”

Yu Chen hung up the phone and ruminated for a while before dialing a number. He asked, “What’s the status of the thing I asked you to check?”

—–

The author has something to say:

Yu Chen: Stop fishing for trouble!

Ling Qing: There is indeed trouble that can be caught by “fishing*.” *referring to Yu from Yu Chen’s name, which is a homophone for fish

Yu Chen: …

Ling Qing: I’m not fishing for trouble, I’m just fishing for “fish.”

Enraged Yu Chen: Stop!

Ling Qing: Don’t be afraid, Xiao Yu, if he tries to be a pick up artist to you, I’ll be a pick up artist towards him!

Yu Chen: I’m not afraid at all!

Ling Qing: It hasn’t been easy. Come, I’ll pat your head~

Yu Chen: You dare pat my head!

YuChendeathbyheadpat.gif

—–

Neirith is taking Ko-fis! Every 3 Ko-fis will be one extra chapter a week.

(previous chapter) (next chapter)

12 responses to “The Film Emperor Asks For Divorce Every Day 影帝每天都想离婚[穿书] Ch. 18

  1. Pingback: The Film Emperor Asks For Divorce Every Day 影帝每天都想离婚[穿书] Ch. 19 | Kagerou Scans·

  2. Pingback: The Film Emperor Asks For Divorce Every Day 影帝每天都想离婚[穿书] Ch. 20 | Kagerou Scans·

  3. Pingback: The Film Emperor Asks For Divorce Every Day 影帝每天都想离婚[穿书] Ch. 17 | Kagerou Scans·

  4. lmaoo LB is like a hypnotist or something

    LB: you like me
    YC: no???
    LB: are you sure you like me? you definitely like me
    YC: i said i don’t!
    LB: ehhhh iunno, sounds like you like me
    YC: wait, do i like you???

Leave a comment