The Film Emperor Asks For Divorce Every Day 影帝每天都想离婚[穿书] Ch. 19

Translated by Neirith

“In order to investigate events that occurred more than 10 years ago, you have to give me some more time.”

“Okay, report back to me as soon as possible.”

“I know boss, don’t worry.”

Yu Chen hung up the phone and pondered for a bit. What kind of temperament would Ling Qing’s biological brother have?

At the same time, Ling Qing was calling Ling Bai’s phone. There was a moment of silence when Ling Bai picked up, as if he was waiting for the other person to speak before responding. 

Satisfied, Ling Qing decided to speak first. “You approached Yu Chen?”

“Brother Chen told you?”

“Yeah, he just told me. We are married, after all.”

Ling Bai grit his teeth. “Showing off to me, Ling Qing? Think he likes you? He only told you out of duty because you’re married. He was just afraid you would start a fight.”

Was there any need for Ling Qing to rush? No, the show hadn’t even started yet. Staying true to his character, he acted affectionately. 

“What are you talking about, Xiao Bai? All these years, I’ve only liked you. If it weren’t for you, I wouldn’t have married him!”

“Then divorce him for me!” Ling Bai exclaimed angrily. 

“Naturally,” Ling Qing said calmly, “As long as you’re willing to be with me.”

Unbelieving, Ling Bai replied, “Sure, as long as you divorce him, I’ll get together with you.”

“Then you talk to our parents, ah, I mean my parents, first. Once they clarify the relationship you can return to your family and we can get together, okay?”

Sneering, Ling Bai retorted, “I knew it, Ling Qing. You just want to kick me out of the house, right? This is your plan to expel me from the Ling family.”

“What?” Ling Qing said gently, “I’m just thinking about our future. After all, your feelings for me aren’t as deep as my feelings for you. If you’re unwilling to leave the family after I divorce Yu Chen, then I’ll have lost my spouse as well as my family. I don’t want to lose both.”

“Aren’t you afraid I’ll tell Yu Chen what you’re thinking?” Ling Bai asked.

In his heart, Ling Qing said, ‘Go ahead and tell him. It’s not that he doesn’t know, but there’ll be hell if he believes you!’

“What do I have to be afraid of? The reason for our marriage, don’t you know? I don’t really care, do you? Did you want me to tell Yu Chen that you’re not a child of the Ling family?”

“You didn’t tell him?” Ling Bai was astonished. Ling Qing didn’t tell him about it?

Sighing, Ling Qing said sadly, “Xiao Bai, you really don’t understand my affection for you. If you don’t understand, then don’t ask.”

Since Yu Chen didn’t know, then the change in his attitude wasn’t because Yu Chen knew he wasn’t a part of the Ling family?

Then why?

Was it because he made Yu Chen upset last time?

“Brother, you have to help me. Brother Chen won’t talk to me, he just ignores me now. Can you help me contact him?”

“Are you kidding me, Ling Bai?’’ Ling Qing said coldly, “Do I seem very magnanimous? Helping you get back together with Yu Chen, aren’t you afraid I’ll tell him your true identity?”

“No!” Ling Bai was terrified, “You can’t tell him.”

Hearing his words, Ling Qing was pacified. “If you don’t want me to, of course I won’t disclose it, but stop testing me. You know I’m not a gentleman and I like you, so I can’t bear to let you see Yu Chen. If you keep bringing him up, I might do something that will invariably hurt you.”

“This is unbearable,” Ling Qing said, lowering his voice.

Ling Bai felt his mind was a jumbled mess. He couldn’t decipher the truth from falsehood, feeling that there was no way Ling Qing liked him. Yet, Ling Qing’s tone as he explained that he liked him caused him to become confused. 

“Alright Xiao Bai. I didn’t call you today to scare you.” Ling Qing smiled. “I just wanted to remind you not to approach Yu Chen. Although I’m not happy about it, I’ll treat it as if nothing happened.”

“On the other hand,” Ling Qing continued, “If you go to Su Yue, I don’t know what I might do.”

Confused, Ling Bai asked, “Why?”

“Why not? Yu Chen is my love rival, so isn’t Su Yue an even bigger rival? If you want to learn about your past, I can help you. You don’t have to turn to him. Besides, aren’t you afraid he might spread it to others? Then the whole world will know you’re not a child of the Ling family.”

Ling Bai frowned when he heard this. When he went to Yu Chen earlier, it wasn’t to investigate his past, but to suppress this secret. He knew Yu Chen’s character and unless he brought it up, Yu Chen wouldn’t ask. This was the same reason why he didn’t approach Su Yue. 

It seemed he trusted Yu Chen more than Su Yue. 

Su Yue…

Thinking quietly for a few moments, Ling Bai realized that there really was no guarantee that Su Yue would keep this under wraps or use it to threaten him. 

“You didn’t tell anyone else, did you?” Ling Bai questioned. 

“Of course not,” Ling Qing laughed, “I haven’t publicized this after so many years, so you should know I stand by you. I don’t want to hurt you.”

Ling Bai said nothing. He thought, for the first time, Ling Qing might be speaking the truth. He knew about it for a long time, yet never brought it up. Even their parents didn’t know.

“Okay,” Ling Bai whispered, “Please investigate it for me.”

“Sure,” Ling Qing said gently, with a loving tone, “I’ll help you, but in return, you keep your distance from Su Yue lest I become jealous, okay?”

“Are you threatening me?”

“I’m just speaking the truth,” Ling Qing said. “Surely you aren’t taking my love for granted? It’s just staying away from Su Yue, can’t you do something so simple? If not, I might as well tell him you’re not related to the Ling family and see what he does.”

“That’s enough!” Ling Bai exclaimed. “You said you wouldn’t tell.”

“Did I? I didn’t promise anything. I only kept quiet for your sake. However, if you want to get close to others, why should I keep quiet?”

Ling Qing said with a laugh, “Between Su Yue and your little secret, you can only choose one.”

Ling Bai was unable to reply otherwise, “Do I have any choice other than to promise to stay away from him?”

“Then do as you say. Be good.”

“I know.” Ling Bai’s head drooped down in silence. He clenched his fist, telling himself that this was the best course of action.

When Ling Qing found the true child of the Ling family, they could discuss a reasonable solution and only then, would he reconcile with Su Yue.

“Thank you, brother.” He replied in a rare attempt at flattery. 

Ling Qing almost laughed aloud. Trying his best to stay in character, he said, “Why didn’t you say so earlier? After all, you’re my most beloved one~” 

Most beloved one~

Most beloved~

One~

Ling Bai was speechless.

Ling Qing said a few parting words before hanging up. Then, he couldn’t help himself and laughed aloud while laying on his bed.

If Su Yue couldn’t use Ling Bai as a pawn, who else would he use?

The only thing was that he was now cemented in the role of this perverted, infatuated brother who was walking a fine line, always on the verge of turning to the dark side for the sake of love. Nevertheless, this act was quite interesting. 

Every time he heard Ling Bai’s panicked tone, he couldn’t help but wish to see Ling Bai’s fearful and shocked expression and laughed wildly in his heart. 

Bullying the Little White Moonlight was really great fun. Thinking this, Ling Qing had the greater urge to act. 

It was a pity that he didn’t have the ability to reach the entertainment circle right now, so he went back to his computer and checked for any new information. 

When Yu Chen came home for dinner, Ling Qing told him about the exchange he had with Ling Bai. 

“He shouldn’t approach Su Yue for the time being, but…” Ling Qing looked at Yu Chen and smiled, “He might look for you again.”

Yu Chen: …

“In the first place, you two split because he couldn’t make a choice between you and Su Yue. Now that he has to avoid Su Yue, that should satisfy your previous request.”

“Therefore, he’ll come back and say that only after losing you, did he discover that you’re his most important person.”

“You’re the fuse. You bring the light. You’re the fuse that brings the light into his life. Since he’s left Su Yue, he’ll come back to you.”

Yu Chen: …

Ling Qing’s eyes bent upwards, “My dear Mr. Yu, what should you do now?”

—–

The author has something to say:

Yu Chen: Here’s the arrangement!

Written composition: Ling Qing and Ling Bai have no blood relationship and no legal relationship, are not in the same household, and don’t like each other. It’s all a lie. 

Ling Bai to Yu Chen: You love me, you love me, you really love me!

Ling Qing to Ling Bai: I love you, I love you, I really love you!

This is the result of trying to be a pick up artist to my husband, I’ll be a pick up artist to you.

Yu Chen: Qingqing, do you have something to tell me?

Ling Qing: Of course!

Yu Chen: What is it?

Ling Qing: Is it something that needs to be said? Baby, are you willing to accept my love?

Yu Chen: ……

Yu Chen: Sooner or later, I’ll drive once and let you determine which one of us should be the driver!

—–

Neirith is taking Ko-fis! Every 3 Ko-fis will be one extra chapter a week.

(previous chapter) (next chapter)

7 responses to “The Film Emperor Asks For Divorce Every Day 影帝每天都想离婚[穿书] Ch. 19

  1. Pingback: The Film Emperor Asks For Divorce Every Day 影帝每天都想离婚[穿书] Ch. 18 | Kagerou Scans·

  2. Pingback: The Film Emperor Asks For Divorce Every Day 影帝每天都想离婚[穿书] Ch. 20 | Kagerou Scans·

Leave a comment