The Film Emperor Asks For Divorce Every Day 影帝每天都想离婚[穿书] Ch. 31

Translated by Neirith

Yu Chen peered at her and motioned. “Have a seat.”

Hearing this, Qin Yanyu sat down on a sofa not too far away. 

“Did you need something?” Yu Chen asked.

“Naturally, it’s about what’s going on.” Qin Yanyu flashed a smile and glanced at him. “My agent informed me that Mr. Huo said I might need to fill a role in a few days?”

“That’s correct.” Yu Chen replied.

“Mr. Yu isn’t going to ask if I mind?”

“You’re an artist contracted with this company, and the company needs your assistance. Are you willing to help?”

Yu Chen quickly got down to business. “This is a good script and the compensation is already settled. What more could you ask for?”

“Isn’t Chen Hongming’s contract up for renewal? How about mine?” Qin Yanyu asked, “Does Mr. Yu plan to have me renew my contract?”

“That’s not it. His contract is up for renewal, but you still have a few years left for yours, so there’s no need to worry.”

“So Mr. Yu plans to renew my contract?”

“Of course.”

“Then what methods does Mr. Yu have to keep me with the company?” Qin Yanyu inquired.

“What are you looking for?”

Qin Yanyu looked at him but didn’t dare to enunciate what she wanted. After a long while, she smiled and said, “Then, Mr. Yu, invite me out for a meal. After the meal, I’ll renew my contract with him.”

Yu Chen wasn’t expecting this sort of request and refused. “I still have work to do, so I’ll ask Huo Qi to accompany you for a meal.”

“Mr. Huo has accompanied many artists for meals, but not you, Mr. Yu. Even for our company’s annual meetings, you’ve never accompanied us.”

Yu Chen chuckled, “I really am busy.”

He looked toward Qin Yanyu and said, “You’ve developed well over the past few years. The company cares for you, and you are equally loyal to the company. In order to fill this role, we really need your assistance. Later on in the filming process, I’ll visit the crew. When that happens, I’ll invite you out to eat along with Ling Qing.”

When Qin Yanyu heard the words “Ling Qing” come out of his mouth, her suspicions peaked. 

Over the past two days, she had come to discover that the company had signed a new artist named Ling Qing. As soon as he was signed, he became the male lead for《March Peach Blossom Smile》, the role that should have gone to Chen Hongming.

Not that it was a big deal. After all, Chen Hongming had ulterior motives and it wasn’t the first time she’d been displeased with this white eyed wolf. However, she hadn’t expected that as soon as she heard word of Tan Keyao’s withdrawal, Huo Qi would contact her agent to fill the gap. They had already made preparations in advance.

Qin Yanyu had just finished filming the week prior and hadn’t wanted to take up another role so soon, so she had asked her agent to relay this and recommend other actresses in her stead. 

Although they weren’t as good as her, they were of similar strength to Tan Keyao. Nonetheless, Huo Qi had soon contacted her and said that this was under Yu Chen’s direction. If she didn’t want to, she had better take it up with him directly. 

Qin Yanyu had signed with Morning Rise almost immediately after it had been founded. Over these few years, she had never seen Yu Chen care about the company’s artists. 

Huo Qi had always been the one responsible for artist affairs. Yu Chen didn’t care about those sorts of things and naturally didn’t manage them.

Yet, now that this newcomer had signed a contract, he not only provided him with a protagonists’ role, but had also asked her to carry the palanquin. 

That was too much for a newcomer.

“May I ask what the relationship between Ling Qing and Mr. Yu is?” she had asked.

Huo Qi had laughed mysteriously and responded, “That’s not something you should be worried about. You only need to do a good job at playing the heroine.” Once he said this, he hung up.

With doubts in her heart, Qin Yanyu changed her clothes, applied some make up, and steeled herself to go to Yu Chen’s office. 

As she thought of this, Qin Yanyu once again put on a gentle expression. “Speaking of which, what is the relationship between yourself and Ling Qing? Why are you so good to him?”

Yu Chen didn’t like to talk about himself to outsiders, and this was especially true in regards to his private life. Towards this employee, who he considered an outsider, he merely said, “This is none of your business.”

“I’m just wondering.” Qin Yanyu defended. “Mr. Huo asked me to fill this role and this is the first time I’ve ever been asked to do so, so I’m guessing that Ling Qing should have a good relationship with you.”

“Qin Yanyu,” Yu Chen said unconcerned, “I will admit that you have made great contributions toward the company, and you are an equally great artist, but you should know what not to ask.”

“I have a good relationship with Ling Qing, so you need to take care of him on set. Understand?”

Seeing that he was on the verge of losing his temper Qin Yanyu could only awkwardly nod and agree, “Okay.”

“Then you’re free to leave.”

Standing up, Qin Yanyu timidly asked in a soft voice, “Are you upset with me, Mr. Yu?”

“No.” Yu Chen replied calmly. “I just don’t like it when people overstep their boundaries.”

Qin Yanyu had no reply and could only bite her lip and lower her head, saying nothing.

“Leave.” Yu Chen instructed.

Qin Yanyu looked up at him and wanted to ask if he would help her in the same way if she one day encountered a similar situation. However, she dared not ask.

For years, she had looked at Yu Chen as if he were a star in the sky. A star that was so beautiful, radiant, and mysterious. Outside of a mortals’ reach. 

Thus, she hadn’t dared to approach, didn’t dare to confess, and only dared to peer at him from the distance. She naturally didn’t dare to have any expectations toward him.

Feeling uncomfortable, Qin Yanyu turned and exited Yu Chen’s office.

When he saw her leaving, Yu Chen opened up his files and began to pore over them. After reading for a while, he heard the phone ring again and picked it up to hear the secretary say gently, “Mr. Yu, Mr. Ling Bai is here for you.”

Yu Chen: …

What was Qin Yanyu even here for?

Yu Chen felt so tired, he definitely didn’t want to see Ling Bai!

“Tell him to look for his brother.” Yu Chen said this and hung up.

Unwilling to accept this answer, Ling Bai urged the secretary to call him again. The secretary smiled and informed him, “I’m sorry Mr. Ling, but Mr. Yu is unable to meet with you. There’s nothing I can do about it.”

Thus, Ling Bai chose to call Yu Chen himself, only to find that Yu Chen didn’t answer. He began to feel anxious, as if Yu Chen seem to drift further and further away from him.

When noon arrived, Yu Chen left to get lunch. As soon as he walked toward the elevator, he saw Ling Bai hiding off to the side. Yu Chen was at a loss for words. Never had he seen Ling Bai pursuing him so relentlessly.

Now that he had declined Ling Bai, it seemed that Ling Bai had begun to harass him. As if he were an essential part of Ling Bai’s life, one that he needed to be in constant contact with lest he die. 

Honestly, it was a bit silly and sad. 

He entered the elevator, and Ling Bai swiftly followed him in. Yu Chen pressed the floor wordlessly. 

Ling Bai peered up at him and whispered, “Brother Chen, are you still mad at me?”

“No.” Yu Chen stated.

“You chose Su Yue, so like I said before, I have nothing to do with you now.”

Ling Bai seemed to have waited for this and replied, “But I regret it.”

He looked at Yu Chen and said with a sincere and melancholy expression, “I see it now. You’re more important to me than Su Yue. I lose Su Yue, but I can’t afford to lose you. I’ve cut contact with him now. Can you stop being mad?”

Yu Chen: …

Yu Chen stared at Ling Bai, thinking to himself, “This is exactly what your brother said you would do!” He remained silent.

Ling Bai continued, “Brother Chen, we’ve known each other for years. Please forgive me. I shouldn’t have said those things. In my heart, you’re the most important. I’m willing to break it off with Su Yue and only listen to you in the future, okay?”

The door of the elevator opened and Yu Chen asked, “Are you getting off?”

Ling Bai shook his head. 

“Well, I’m getting off.” Yu Chen stepped out.

Ling Bai hurriedly chased after him, but was stopped by a security guard at the entrance of the cafeteria. “Sir, this is the employee canteen. Please show your employee ID.”

Ling Bai peered anxiously into the cafeteria but couldn’t catch a glimpse of Yu Chen. He stated angrily, “I came with Yu Chen.”

“But Mr. Yu just reminded us to diligently check employee IDs.”

Ling Bai: ???

Gritting his teeth in anger, Ling Bai cast one reluctant look at the cafeteria before he turned and left. 

With a meal in hand, Yu Chen entered his exclusive private room within the cafeteria and called Ling Qing.

“What’s up?” Ling Qing answered, “Miss me?”

“Ling Bai just came to look for me.”

“Again? What did he say?”

“He said he wanted to make up and that he already cut ties with Su Yue. Said he already stopped contacting him.”

Ling Qing chortled, “Did you just say that he said he broke off contacts with Su Yue for you?”

“Yeah,” Yu Chen sighed, “It went exactly as you said it would.”

“Listen, I’ve seen many a Little White Lotus. I don’t have to think too hard to know what he’ll do next.”

“Little White Lotus?”

“Doesn’t he seem like it? With a soft, helpless appearance that attracts ones’ protective desires?”

“If he’s a Little White Lotus, what are you?” Yu Chen probed.

Ling Qing said impetuously, “Me? I’m a piranha plant. If anyone dares to bully me, I’ll eat them.”

Yu Chen laughed gently, “Well, you’re very similar.”

“Similarly aggressive?”

“Nah.” Yu Chen took a sip of his soup. “Similarly smelly.” As soon as he said this, he quickly hung up.

Unable to retort, Ling Qing stared at the phone. 

Ling Qing: [Running away after cursing someone, are you a kindergartener?!]

Ling Qing: [If you think I’m so smelly, don’t think about coming into my room tonight!]

Ling Qing: [I’ll kick you out as soon as you come in!]

After sending a barrage of messages, Ling Qing set the phone aside and continued to read the script, too lazy to deal with Yu Chen.

On the other hand, Yu Chen stared at the messages on his phone and became worried. He wouldn’t really stop him from going in the room, right?

Right?

Ling Qing couldn’t possibly be so petty, right?

Yu Chen became inexplicably remorseful. 

When he returned home that evening, Yu Chen entered the house through the dining room and asked the steward what Ling Qing had been up to all day.

“The Madam stayed in his room the entire time and didn’t come out except to eat.”

Yu Chen immediately grasped onto some key words. “Only when he left to eat?”

“Yes.”

“He has already eaten?”

“That’s right.”

Frowning, Yu Chen went back to the dining room and called Ling Qing’s phone. However, Ling Qing didn’t answer.

Instead, it was the chef who quickly brought dinner. This was the first time that they had eaten separately since he and Ling Qing had mended their relationship, and Yu Chen ate without tasting his food. 

After hastily eating his food, Yu Chen promptly went upstairs to Ling Qing’s room. He knocked on the door and reached out to open it, but soon realized that it was locked. 

Yu Chen: …

Yu Chen continued knocking on the door. “Open the door.”

Ling Qing, who was sitting on the bed, replied, “What did I say this afternoon?”

Yu Chen: …

Yu Chen knew he was holding a grudge.

“I just said a few words and you got angry.”

“I’m not angry, I’m just doing it for you. With how fragrant you are, how can you stay with someone as smelly as me?”

“I was just speaking nonsense.”

“Do you admit your wrongs?”

Yu Chen had no choice but to admit his wrongs, “Yes, yes, it was my fault, okay?”

After he heard this, Ling Qing got out of bed and walked to the door. “Do you dare talk back to me again?”

“I wouldn’t dare.” Yu Chen stated wearily. 

Soon as he said this, he turned his head and saw the steward standing not far away. 

Yu Chen: …

Steward: …

Yu Chen chose to turn around and enter his study, acting as if nothing had occurred. 

Steward: …

The steward turned his head to the side, restraining a smile. 

Ling Qing heard his footsteps leaving and, hearing that Yu Chen’s voice had disappeared, opened the door warily. He saw Yu Chen entering his study and was a little puzzled.

Then, he turned around and saw the steward descending the stairs. Thinking for a brief moment, Ling Qing figured out what had happened. 

He approached the door of Yu Chen’s study and knocked on it, and stuck his head in, “Can I come in?”

Yu Chen looked at him. “Oh, who’s this? Isn’t it Mrs. Yu? You deign to meet me?” 

Ling Qing’s eyes upturned into a smile as he walked in and closed the door. “Are you mad?”

“I wouldn’t dare.” Yu Chen placed the document he was holding down. 

Ling Qing walked before him and leaned over, peering at him. “Then, should I console you?”

“Am I a child who needs to be consoled?”

You’re not, but you still got mad.

Ling Qing imagined a scene where he was caught by the steward after being locked out and felt it was really funny. But even if he thought it was funny, Yu Chen thought it was embarrassing. 

Ah, the steward too. Didn’t he know that their family’s Young Master treasured his image?

You should have just found somewhere to hide!

Ling Qing saw the embarrassment in Yu Chen’s face and said to himself, “I’m nice to you, willing to care for your image, and willing to coax you, so you should like me, okay?”

However, he abruptly sorted his thoughts. Yu Chen really liked him, so of course it was okay to coax him.

He lowered head and gave Yu Chen a kiss. When Yu Chen tried to hide, he kissed Yu Chen again. 

Yu Chen raised his eyes to glance at him.

Ling Qing smiled, “Don’t be mad. I’m not mad at you anymore, so we’re even.”

Seeing his smile, Yu Chen struggled for a while before he reluctantly agreed. 

“Will you let me in tonight?” he asked.

Thinking that he was really cute, Ling Qing stretched out his paws and rubbed his face. “I’m not stupid. You’re so handsome, if I don’t let you in, I’ll be the one losing out.”

Yu Chen shook off his grubby paws and said indignantly, “You only like my face!”

“And?” Ling Qing looked at the face that had been rubbed until it was red and stated confidently, “You didn’t like me and you still expected me to like you? If it wasn’t for the fact that your face is exactly my type, I wouldn’t like you, only your money.”

Yu Chen: …

Yu Chen dropped his hands.

“Let me out.”

“Are you mad again?” Ling Qing smirked.

He saw Yu Chen’s sullen expression but was unafraid and deliberately poked his red cheeks as he asked, “Darling, do you like me?”

“Who would like you!” Yu Chen refused to admit anything.

“Exactly. You don’t like me, and I don’t like you. Actually, I still like your face. Either way I look at it, I’m the one at a disadvantage.”

Yu Chen: ??????

Yu Chen stared at him in astonishment, “Ling Qing, do you have any face?” He reached out a hand to pinch Ling Qing’s face. “It seems that it’s still there. Why did I feel your face ran away just now?”

Ling Qing brushed his hand away, rubbing his face. “I’m just thin skinned, that’s why you can’t see it.”

Yu Chen: …

Yu Chen knew he lost.

Men who didn’t need their face were invincible!

Ling Qing already had no sense of shame, it was no wonder he could never win against him. 

Seeing Yu Chen dumbfounded and speechless, Ling Qing sat down and wrestled into his embrace, grinning. 

“What are you doing?” Yu Chen looked at him. 

Ling Qing took his hand and placed it on his face. “Rub it for me, you pinched it too hard. It hurts so much I could die.”

Upon hearing this, Yu Chen looked at his red face and thought to himself, “Isn’t it obvious I didn’t use any strength?”

But even if he didn’t use any strength, he wasn’t the one on the other end, so he wasn’t sure if he had really pinched too hard. He had no choice but to help rub his face.

Seeing that he was compliantly rubbing his face, Ling Qing’s only thought was that he was so cute and well behaved. As he sat in Yu Chen’s lap, he wrapped his arms around Yu Chen’s waist and announced, “Don’t worry Xiao Yu, even if you run out of money, as long as you keep your face, I’ll open the door and let you in my bed.”

Yu Chen: …

Yu Chen squeezed his face again and pulled both of his hands out. 

“Then I thank you!”

Having been pulled until he was silly, Ling Qing replied, “You’re welcome.”

That night, Steward Wang purposely went upstairs to take a look before going to bed. He was relieved to see his Young Master enter Ling Qing’s room once more. 

It seemed that he was free from having to kneel on a keyboard.

Three days later, the internet discussions took another turn.

“What’s going on? Tan Keyao dropped out?”

“She should have noticed Ling Qing is a newcomer and didn’t want to act with him.”

“It’s only natural. It isn’t Chen Hongming who’s playing the male lead, but a newcomer.  So the biggest names in this crew are Tan Keyao and Zhong Huan. To tell you the truth, if I were Tan Keyao, I wouldn’t want to act either.”

“There won’t be any smiles in《March Peach Blossom Smile》, only tears. Now that Tan Keyao dropped out, where can they find a female star to replace her?”


The author has something to say:

Chen Hongming’s fans today: Being so proud of yourself, serves you right. Now the female lead left, this play is going to be a mess. 

Chen Hongming’s fans tomorrow: What happened!!! Why can’t he just play nicely in the mud?!!

Yu Chen: I won’t allow you guys to make fun of him as an 18th tier!

Ling Qing: Idiots. There’s someone backing me~

[Small Theater]

Yu Chen: Uncle Wang, you watched me grow up. How could you prepare a keyboard for me?

Steward: Young Master, if I hadn’t watched you grow up, I would have prepared a durian.

Yu Chen: …

Ling Qing: The steward you hired isn’t too bad!

Steward: Many thanks, Madam

Heard some people were missing the steward, here he is~~


Many thanks to aphrosdiax on NovelUpdates for providing me with the author’s notes.

Neirith is taking Ko-fis! Every 3 Ko-fis will be one extra chapter a week.

(previous chapter) (next chapter)

19 responses to “The Film Emperor Asks For Divorce Every Day 影帝每天都想离婚[穿书] Ch. 31

  1. Hehehe Ling Qing really knows how to make Yu Chen obedient.
    The steward appeared again and now he saw his master lose face fufufu

    Thanks for the chapter!

  2. omg this couple is too cute hehehe
    reminds me a lil of xie yang & qiu xing from my husband is suffering from a terminal illness!

  3. sucks to be Qin Yanyu, Yu Chen is taking advantage of her feelings for him to make her do a film that won’t even help her career any :/ i mean genre tropes say it’ll probably be some kind of record-setting hit but nobody knows that, YC is throwing her under the bus as far as anyone can see it and he’s even stonewalling the questions she has every right to ask damn

    • Mmm, I wouldn’t say so. He’s just her boss, and in the real world, it would be exceedingly inappropriate to approach your boss and ask them about their relationship with one of your coworkers.

      Even if you’re 99% sure there’s something suspicious going on it’s incredibly untactful to just ask your boss about it. 😐

      • But he made it a personal matter. He’s asking her to do a personal favor for him, for someone else’s sake, when they both know she’s interested in him. He’s already crossed boundaries here, why shouldn’t she be able to at least ask for an explanation?

      • Like, this isn’t a “can you pick up some milk” favor, this is a “can you put in months of work to help out a complete newcomer, an unprecedented and uncharacteristic request from me” favor. If anything is “inappropriate” and “untactful,” it’s that! And she doesn’t have a right to ask about it?

    • Err, it really isn’t anything outrageous, trust me. Huo Qi asked her to fill the role, she went to Yu Chen to ask for a meal, Yu Chen said no… Then she asked what his relationship with Ling Qing is and Yu Chen said they had a good relationship but not to pry.

      It shouldn’t be considered a personal favor, it’s just work. If the boss tells you to do something, you do it. Sure, she would have had the right to ask questions like “why Ling Qing” or “why are you guys investing so much in this drama,” but a personal question like “what is your relationship with him?” Out of the question.

    • Yu Chen doesn’t know about her having feelings for him(I would know since I went to read the mtl while waiting for more chapters. Although I thought it was obvious that he didn’t know about her feelings,guess it was just me). He didn’t even understand romance until recently and can be pretty oblivious. He has a pretty low EQ when it comes to romance basically. Also, Yu Chen knows the boundaries between personal life and business,you see it this way because you know Yu Chen likes Ling Qing but although that could possibly be part of the reason,as a company in their line of work apart from uplifting their stars they had invested a lot into that production so they can’t just let it be wasted just like that. Even if the person was someone else not Ling Qing,this choice would be the best course of action so that they don’t make any losses. Plus Yu Chen isn’t forcing or taking advantage of her feelings and isn’t forcing her to do anything,she is the one who changed her mind when she found out Yu Chen was the one who made the request,she also had every right to refuse,after all,their stars well being and opinions is part of their responsibility.

      • Wow I forgot that employees are emotionless robots, hope you get the Uberboss of your dreams!

    • Lmao how can you see it as YC taking advantage of her? First of all she is his EMPLOYEE and he is the BOSS. He gave her a job that even have an option whether to accept it or not but she is being pretentious thinking as if she’s special, asking her BOSS for a meal to accept the job. Plus as an employee she should have known her boundaries, she have no right asking about the private life of her boss. Her like is one sided and YC doesn’t even know her special thoughts on him.
      Imagine you yourself the boss of your own company, then suddenly one of your employee questions you about your relationship when you are not even close. What would you feel? Even though she’s their top artist, it still didn’t give her a right to be entitled in asking his boss relationship and make her boss answer her shameless question.

  4. Pingback: The Film Emperor Asks For Divorce Every Day 影帝每天都想离婚[穿书] Ch. 31 | Kagerou Scans·

  5. Pingback: The Film Emperor Asks For Divorce Every Day 影帝每天都想离婚[穿书] Ch. 30 part 2 | Kagerou Scans·

Leave a comment